VANS Announces AGM and Calls for Board Members


Visual Arts Nova Scotia’s Annual General Meeting is Saturday, June 10th at the Fraser Cultural Centre in Tatamagouche. We have activities planned and 40th Anniversary events to discuss so we would love your company. We’ll have coffee and snacks at 10:30am, the meeting at 11am, catered lunch at 12pm and then afternoon activities, including a gallery visit and tour of the town, starting at 1pm. Please
RSVP to before June 5th (please include any dietary requirements if you will be joining us for lunch).

Call for Board Members

Visual Arts Nova Scotia is seeking to fill at least two vacancies on our Board of Directors. One of those members must reside outside of Halifax Regional Municipality. The Board of Directors must be made up of a minimum of eight (8) and a maximum of eleven (11) members. To ensure province-wide representation, we will designate one-third of the board from outside the HRM. We strive to be a diverse group of artists through cultural diversity, geographic distribution, gender, ability and skills of our members.The Board of Directors oversees the larger purpose of the organization, the mandate, and supports Visual Arts Nova Scotia in its continued relevance. They meet six times a year. Engagement, including pan-provincial activities, is approached through more active committees that are open to members.

Nominees will stand for election at our Annual General Meeting on June 10, 2017 in Tatamagouche. A Board Member believes wholeheartedly in the importance and value of Visual Arts Nova Scotia to the visual arts community and the representative should be able to endorse the mandate and objectives of our organization without reservation. If you are interested in nominating a member or putting your name forward and would like additional information, please contact Pamela Swainson, President at or Briony Carros, Executive Director at

Deadline for nominations: June 1, 2017

Please email a brief statement of interest and a CV to:
Visual Arts Nova Scotia
Attention: Nominating committee